Back to top
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.


The CMS Quality Reporting Document Architecture (QRDA) Implementation Guides (IGs) are based on the Health Level Seven International® QRDA IGs. The CMS QRDA Category I IG is used for Hospital Inpatient Quality Reporting, Hospital Outpatient Quality Reporting, and the Medicare Promoting Interoperability Program for Eligible Hospitals and Critical Access Hospitals. The CMS QRDA Category III IG is used for the Eligible Clinician programs addressing aggregate reporting requirements for Primary Care First, traditional Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) programs, Alternative Payment Model Performance Pathway, and MIPS Value Pathway.

Who Uses Tool
Eligible Hospital / Critical Access Hospital
Eligible Clinician
Health IT Developer/Vendor
Last Updated: Jan 31, 2024