Now Available - QRDA III Implementation Guide for the Calendar Year 2018 Performance Period

November 28, 2017 - 10:33am

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) published the 2018 CMS Quality Reporting Document Architecture (QRDA) Category III Implementation Guide (IG) for Eligible Professionals (EPs) and Eligible Clinicians (referred to as the 2018 CMS QRDAinfo-icon III IG) with Schematrons and Sample Files.  

The 2018 CMS QRDA III IG provides implementation guidance for the 2018 performance period for submitting QRDA Category III (QRDA III) files for the following CMS Programs:

  • Quality Payment Program: Merit-based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) and Advanced Alternative Payment Models (APMs)
  • Comprehensive Primary Care Plus (CPC+)
  • Medicaid Electronic Health Record (EHRinfo-icon) Incentive Program for EPs

About the 2018 CMS QRDA III IG:

  • The 2018 CMS QRDA III IG is based on the Health Level Seven (HL7info-icon) QRDA Category III R1, Standard for Trial Use R2.1. There are no changes to the QRDA templates from the 2017 CMS QRDA III IG.
  • Includes updated eCQMinfo-icon specificationsinfo-icon for EPs and Eligible Cliniciansinfo-icon universally unique identifier (UUID) list for the 2018 performance period.
  • Includes updates to the MIPS advancing care information measures and improvement activities for the 2018 performance period.

For more detail regarding the changes from previous versions of the CMS QRDA III IG, visit the “Change Log” section of the document.

Additional QRDA-Related Resources:

For questions related to the Quality Payment Program, visit the Quality Payment Program website or contact the Service Center by phone 1-866-288-8292 (TTY 1-877-715-6222) or email

Last Updated: June 19, 2018