Back to top

Eligible Hospital / Critical Access Hospital eCQMs

The electronic clinical quality measures (eCQMs) are updated for calendar year 2020 reporting for the Hospital Inpatient Quality Reporting (IQR) Program and the Medicare and Medicaid Promoting Interoperability programs for Eligible Hospitals and Critical Access Hospitals. Measures will not be eligible for 2020 reporting unless and until they are proposed and finalized through notice-and-comment rulemaking for each applicable program.

Each year, CMS makes updates to the eCQMs adopted for submission in CMS programs. CMS requires the use of updated eCQMs for all its quality programs because they include updated codes, logic corrections, and clarifications. Reporting eCQM data to the Hospital IQR Program and for aligned credit for reporting of eCQMs to the Promoting Interoperability programs requires that hospitals use the most current version of the eCQMs identified below for the applicable reporting period.

CMS may publish addenda to the eCQM updates.  The addenda provide updates to the codes used in value sets based on code system changes.

CMS has updated eCQMs for potential inclusion in these programs

Use the eCQM Materials and follow the eCQM Implementation Checklist to update your electronic health record and processes for eCQM use and reporting.

2021 Reporting Period Eligible Hospital / Critical Access Hospital eCQMs
For Use eCQM Implementation Resources Published
2021 Q1-Q4 Mar 2020
Last Updated: Feb 24, 2020